Hommage de l’étape 18 et le Col du Calais

In paying tribute to Stage 18 of Le Tour de France, I give you…today’s ride. 60 miles, climbing 5,700 feet, ascending Mont Harmonie Twice and featuring the Catagory 3 climb of the Col du Calais.

http://ridewithgps.com/trips/1516768/elevation_profile

Following the quiet, semi-rural roads of Bernardsville, Mendham and Randolph on an
absolute beautiful day. 90 degrees and 59% humidity as Sol’s bright orange and yellow rays illuminated the Summer sky…

20130707_173220

I rolled out, solo as usual, to the first low uncatagorized rise of the day, Meeker Rd. Which would then lead me to Mont Harmonie, the first catagorized climb and the first of two
ascents up the famous (and only) switchback in the Hills of Bernardsville.

My next challenge would be a portion of Hardscrabble, Woodland and then on to Jockey Hollow hill. The sun was shining and I was feeling pretty good so far, but I knew that Calais was looming…the first half-mile is very steep, kicking up to a tough 12+% in the beginning, with an average gradient of 7.1%!

20130720_124604 kom
Jersey worthy? Not a chance…but hey, it does look cool…

20130720_144917

After slogging up Calais, I had a brief respite of about 7+ miles, with a bit downhill and some rollers…until the next climbs of the day. But before I tackled them it was time for the second food and water stop. Cesar’s Deli in Peapack-Gladstone offered up cold drinks, some bananas and an well deserved ice cream sandwich!

Hydrated and fueled, I threw a leg over the top tube and clipped in my shoes to take on Campbell, Clark and the second ascent of Mont Harmonie…Re-energized, I headed off with enthusiasm.

Alone on the road, my thoughts turn to the Tour and today’s awesome Stage 20.
The protagonists battling it out on the slopes of the Alps, as hundreds of thousands of crazed fans cheer on the riders. A stark contrast to my serenely quiet journey through rural suburbia.

After the 2-mile climb of Campbell-Clark, I descended Douglass Ave at a blistering 2:07, my fastest time to date and I slotted into a tie for 3rd place. The second time down
Douglass, I was much slower, taking some pictures and searching for those wild road-side Raspberries!

One last small hill on Route 202, then the last climb up Liberty Corner and onward home…great day in the saddle, nice long ride with a lot of climbs. I was tired and
starting to get hungry, it was perfect timing.

Allez, Allez, Allez!!! Fantastique!!! Oui!!!

Leave a Reply

