Tour de German Valley

Somewhere in and around miles 5 to 6, the skies opened and the deluge began. But just as quick as it came down, it soon began to relent and then stopped, all within about a 20 minute period.

993943_10151460483995904_835530348_n
Ready to roll out…as the skies are darkening

From then on, it remained cloudy and the air heavy, saturated with humidity. Which was especially noticeable on the climbs. Which there were many.

http://ridewithgps.com/trips/1541710/elevation_profile

The Tour de Long Valley Metric Century wound its way through historic Morris, Warren and Hunterdon Counties of rural NJ. Up and down was the order of the day. With police holding traffic at certain locations and roadside volunteers, the ride was made a bit easier, knowing that the dangerous intersections were covered and SAG were on hand.

The ride itself was fairly uneventful, as I have ridden on most of the roads we were on. Though we did trek on a few I have never been on before. Including two rather arduous climbs. From about mile 11 to mile 16, the pavement just kept going upwards. Hollow, Anthony and Silker roads, were all new climbs for me. I was glad to give them a go!

Aye, then it was the two mile climb up Hollowbrook, that put the sting in me legs…which was followed about 20 miles later in the morning by a gradual 6 mile climb, that rose up over 700 feet. Nothing too heady, but by this point I was starting to tire a bit.

20130720_144925

Along the way I encountered groups of varied riders, most all were faster than me on the rolling and flats (what flats there were) but I would catch them all and pass most of them on the climbs. I managed to hook up with two guys, who seemed to be at or near my pace level. We stayed together for about 30 or so odd miles.

As I had passed a dozen or so people, I had to make a ‘nature’ break…and all that ground was lost! I thought I would not see them again until the end. But to my surprise as the road went up…they appeared in my view. One by one I picked them off. Not that we were racing, but seeing as they would hammer the easy stuff, it left them empty for the ascents.

Unfortunately, the rest stops were not stocked well, which was completely surprising. No bananas, no Gatorade. Just water and bagels. Bugger me. Actually, I said Scheisse, right to the volunteers, but they had no clue what I was saying…anyway, running low on ‘fuel’ there was one more nasty ascent of the day left.

Naughright. 1.3 miles, 499′ at an average gradient of 7.4%. This, coming at mile 60- of mile 63. Needless to say, I was pathetically slow, clawing my way up…

Then it was one more moderate rise up East Springtown and I rolled back into the park to end the day. 63 miles down, 5,500 feet up, in 4:20. Fairly slow at a 14.5mph average, but given the weather and the terrain, not too bad. This old guy is a just tad worn out…

Leave a Reply

