Maillot à Pois Rouge

Update 7/31:
Well, it’s finally over. The KOM TdF Challenge (6/29-7/31) has ended and after the four weeks, I have finished in 17th place out of 125 competitors world-wide. I completed 23 rides (‘stages’) with 796.3 miles and 69,390.5 feet of ascent.

Cannot say I am disappointed, dropping out of the top 15. But my original goal was to
finish in the top 25, so from that perspective, not too bad. And it was also a marked
improvement from my 44th place in the Maglia Azzurra Challenge for the Giro.


Update 7/21:

After three weeks, I am 14th of 116 competitors.
16 (‘stages’) rides and 513 miles down with 49,793.1 feet of climbs.

TDF-2013-KOM-jersey

Update 7/14:
After two weeks, I am now sitting in 13th place of 108 competitors.
16 (‘stages’) rides and 410 miles down with 33,179.11 feet of climbs.
Two more weeks to go in the KOM challenge and one more week for Le Tour!

I don’t know about most cyclists or bike riders, but I need inspiration from time to time. So, when the Le Tour time comes around, there are usually various riding Challenges
issued by a number of cycling sites to pick and choose from.

Last year, I was in the Ride with GPS 1/4 TdF Challenge and that was fun. I was able to complete the 1/4 distance and then some. It kept me motivated all of July which carried over into August. Sadly, this year, RwGPS didn’t put on the challenge.

But I did find one that is more to my liking, in the form of BikeRadar’s, KOM
Le Tour de BikeRadar K.O.M. Challenge. What I really appreciate about this challenge is that isn’t based on just miles or speed, but rather strictly on climbing. Which suits this old and slow guy perfectly!

After just over one week and 8 rides, I’m holding up in 10th place of 88 competitors, with 6,974.4 meters of ascent. Prior to the start I was hoping for a top 25 and that is what I’m aiming for. Prizes are random and though it’s no big deal, it provides me the motivation and a good kick in the ass to go out and keep climbing!

It’s not too late to join in, as long as you upload all of your rides from June 29th to July 31st, you’re golden! So sign up and start ascending…

Adieu…

Vive Le Tour!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Maillot à Pois Rouge

  1. I love challenges like that. Last year I did the Strava Classics climbing challenge, which was challenging, but I got a cool water bottle out of it. Best of luck with it!

    Like

      • LOL. Unfortunately this is not the year. I will be doing a climbing ride during that time, but won’t be doing a lot of climbing beyond that. I’ll follow through you this time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

