Blunt Force Trauma

Maybe it’s familiar and maybe not. That sickening deep and loud thud which occurs in an instant. An unmistakable sensation of a blunt force impacting you, sending the signals of immediate pain to the brain and the body’s nerve endings in mere nanoseconds.

2017-05-29 19.11.38
Day one after the accident

20170528_154213

The pain that leaves you writhing on the ground, wondering what the hell just happened. Pain that renders you feeble, helpless in that very moment.

2017-05-30 19.13.37-2Right hip/thigh – day two

2017-05-30 19.05.52Left arm – day two

20170530_190454Left side of abdomen – day two

So, these images are the result of a 4000lb or so SUV punting a 160 lb rider on a 15lb bicycle… I was lucky, because the hit came from the left side. Not head on. I never did see the vehicle turn in to me, but I sure felt it. The women driver claims she never spotted me until my body was flying through the air. Nice. 😦

She pulled right into the bike lane, right in to me. Thankfully, nothing was broken, no head injury, nothing super serious. Just a lot of soft tissue damage, pulled muscles and ligaments. These things are bound to happen, given the lack of driver awareness and education of pedestrians and cyclists. A 3 foot or 4 foot law is useless, bike lanes are useless, because in the end if drivers are not aware an d/or not severely punished for these types of incidents, then nothing will really change.

Hopefully I’ll be good to go in a few weeks and put this behind me. I’m getting too old for this nonsense! 😛

On a side note, after I regained my senses about 20 minutes later, I pedaled onward and finished my ride. (probably not the smartest thing to I did)

A small reward was nabbing 7th overall on a double hairpin segment. First time down and only 3 seconds off the KOM. Fastest time in 2017 sop far… The hydraulic discs on the rent-a-bike were an amazing piece of engineering and equipment. Had I known the terrain better, were able to pick my lines a bit more precise, I’m confident I could have challenged for the top spot. When I get back to Colorado Springs…it’s on me list lads and lasses!