Enduro Allroad Bikes Are Taking Off

Heine and Co., engineering and innovating the SHIT out of bicycle tires! I made the switch to 28mm’s tyres, but now I wish I could go even wider on my road bike! #OffTheBeatenPath kicks ass. #PushTheEnvelope

Off The Beaten Path

2016-NAHBS-Hunter-Enduro-All-Road

The big story of last weekend’s North American Handmade Bicycle Show were Enduro Allroad bikes – road bikes with tires wider than 45 mm. These bikes are great on paved roads, but their true element is gravel. Even on smooth gravel, these extra-wide tires roll better than narrower ones. On loose and rough gravel, there simply is no comparison. Instead of grinding through the gravel, you float over it! It’s amazing what ultra-wide, supple tires can do.

outback_04

The idea for the Enduro Allroad bike came during the 2014 Oregon Outback (above), where even my 42 mm-wide Compass Babyshoe Pass tires sank deep into the soft gravel. I hunted from the left side of the “road” to the right, trying to find firmer ground. I could see the tracks of the rider ahead of me, Ira Ryan, who won the race. He was fishtailing all over the place (below).

outback_09

As I tried to keep up the pace…

View original post 929 more words

Leave a Reply

